Labour Business members elect the Executive Committee on a yearly basis.

Hamish Sandison – Chair

Hamish Sandison is a partner in the international law firm Fieldfisher, specialising in IT law, intellectual property and public procurement. He is Chairman of its consulting arm, Fieldfisher Consulting. He is dual-qualified as a solicitor in England and Wales, and as a US attorney. He has been a member of the Executive Committee of the Labour Finance and Industry Group since 2013, and was elected as its Chairman in 2015. He is also on the Board of Labour People, and the steering group of Labour Digital. He stood as Labour’s candidate for Police and Crime Commissioner in Gwent in 2012, and as Labour’s Parliamentary candidate in Monmouth in 2010. Hamish has law degrees from Jesus College Cambridge and Berkeley Law School in California.


David Offenbach – Vice-President

David is a lifelong Labour and trade union movement activist –  recently as member of the national Labour Party’s Development Committee for 2010 General Election; current Branch Chairman and  GC delegate , former  Camden Councillor for 10 years, former parliamentary candidate in London and  East Midland constituencies, a  Unite member and former  ASTMS branch secretary.

David is a business and property solicitor – dealing with finance and industry matters daily for public and private companies, charities and individuals.  A former non–executive director for many years of stock exchange and private companies and a Senior Partner of his successful 30 person law firm.

Currently a non-executive director of  Circle 33 Housing Trust, Brent Housing Partnership and chair of its Development and  Remuneration committees, and a Governor/non-Executive Director of the Working Man’s  College for women and men ( the oldest adult education college in  Europe ) and chair of its Finance  Committee .


Ajay Nehra – Vice President

Ajay is a Commercial Property Consultant and Entrepreneur. One of his core ventures is Ajay Business Centres (AJBC) which provide serviced and virtual offices including a range of other support services to small to medium sized companies.

As well as this, Ajay launched Ajay Nehra Consultancy, an IT and Business Management Consultancy, based in the UAE and has steadily compiled a portfolio of over 300 businesses worldwide to which he continues to support and mentor. Today Ajay supports both private and public business sectors worldwide and regularly advises local government and defence organisations.

Ajay is focussing on building up the existing strong membership of LFIG through liaisons, events and meeting people from across the Labour spectrum.


Phil McCauley – Vice Chair

Phil has served as an elected member of Gedling Borough Council and stood as a Parliamentary candidate

He is chairing the Future of Work policy group. A serial entrepreneur, Phil is presently a cofounder in an AI business and an investor in Blackstar Amplification.

Phil holds a Masters in Politics and Social Policy – University of Nottingham and an MA Writing for Screen & Stage from Regent’s University

Contact: Email Phil McCauley

Peter Droussiotis- Vice Chair


Tony Murray – Secretary

Tony is an independent writer and analyst focusing on the steel industry and world steel markets.

After studying Philosophy, Politics and Economics at Oxford, Tony worked for Harold Wilson in the Labour Party Research Department focusing on economic policy. Afterwards, Tony conducted development studies and industrial market research for the Economist Intelligence Unit within Malaysia, Chile, Bangladesh and Western Europe. Subsequently, wrote and advised on steel and non-ferrous metals markets and related development studies for the Commodities Research Unit, selling CRU services in Asia, Australia Eastern and Western Europe, and has worked independently since 1991.

Outside LFIG, Tony has chaired branch parties and stood for council in several constituencies.

Tony hopes to contribute to economic policy analysis, to shape credible policies that will take Labour to victory in 2015


Paul Hendrick – Treasurer

Paul was a founding member of LFIG and before that a member of the Labour Economic Finance and Taxation Association (LEFTA). He has been Treasurer since LFIG’s inception. He is a Chartered Accountant with over 30 years experience in financial management, treasury and corporate finance working with various major public companies such as Akzo Nobel NV, Courtaulds plc and the British National Oil Corporation. He is currently with Acordis, a major private equity backed buyout of the chemical and fibres businesses of Akzo Nobel. In keeping with his strong interest in regeneration issues Paul has also had extensive board level experience in the public sector including with Greater London Enterprise Ltd, the regional economic development company owned by a consortium of all the London local authorities, where for many years he has been a non-executive Director.


Other Committee members:

Anthony Shrubsall

Karen Landles

Phil McCauley

Del Goddard

Mike Roberts

Rachel Burgin

Josh Robson

Sophie Earnshaw

Nick Conway

Frederique Prevost

Share this: